PDA

View Full Version : Video recording keeps auto stopping canon 600D

Bella01
20-03-2011, 11:39am
Hi,
I am new to the DSLR world and have just purchased the Canon 600D and Sigma 17-70mm macro. I have a Sandisk 16 GB SDHC card.....is this card too slow for video as each time I record I only get approx 30 seconds before it automatically stops. The indicator does appear on the right of the screen as a warning. If this card is too slow can anyone recommend a fast card for video and still shots? Any help appreciated.

Kym
20-03-2011, 12:09pm
:gday: & Welcome - lets see some images in the main CC forums (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?5-.-CONSTRUCTIVE-CRITIQUE-Members-Photos-.) and have fun!
If you want to meet other members then check the Forums / Community / Groups link; also the meet-ups forums!
Also you may wish to have a browse of our new and evolving Library. (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showlibrary.php)

1. Make sure the camera has the latest firmware

2. Card speeds are determined by class.
HD Video usually need at least class 6 or class 10. Get a Sandisk Extreme (Class 10) card, most shops would even let you test it first.

arthurking83
20-03-2011, 4:12pm
I'm fairly sure that most non video specific devices will be set to limit the record time as the default config.

That is, somewhere in the camera's setup menu , you should be able to set a record limit for the device. There may be a variable time or size limit that the user can configure.

:confused013

If it is card speed related, the forst thing you would do is to lower the sample rate and, for example use 720p mode and see how that helps.
I just had a look at the video specs, and it seems you need a card that is at least capable of sustaining 5.5Mb/s over the long haul.
Not all SD cards can do that, I have some that can, and others that can't.
Note that this is the write rate, not the read rate too.