PDA

View Full Version : Off camera flash advice

jasnat
14-03-2011, 5:56pm
I have just purchased a flash and after the first week I purchased a cactus wireless trigger, stand and umbrella. (Jumping in head first)

My question is how much flash do you need? Should I have lowered the flash and keep the natural light stronger or the other way. This is my first attempt to try and balance.
I have posted an example one with and one without.

Info Flash was 90 deg to the subject and the window was opposite about the same angle with a reflector out front

Thanks

olefella
14-03-2011, 9:26pm
Not an expert on this but the second shot certainly gives more detail

etherial
14-03-2011, 9:27pm
I'm ony new to flash work as well and have been experimenting a little. To try and help with your question... it really depends on what type of look you are going for. With these too shots I much prefer the second as the subject is properly exposed. The first has too many shadows as it is. It looks to me as if the flash was point down too much?

MarkChap
14-03-2011, 9:50pm
And although this does not sound all that helpful, the right amount of flash is that which is needed to achieve the desired result.

So if your intention was to match the ambient light with the flash, then you have done just about as good a job as any one could

For me however I would have had the flash power down a lot lower to add just a hint of fill to the shadow side of the face

Have a look at David Hobby's Strobist Site (http://strobist.com), a wealth of information about off camera flash

I have just purchased a flash and after the first week I purchased a cactus wireless trigger, stand and umbrella. (Jumping in head first)

My question is how much flash do you need? Should I have lowered the flash and keep the natural light stronger or the other way. This is my first attempt to try and balance.

jasnat
14-03-2011, 11:11pm
Cheers all