PDA

View Full Version : How much should i charge!?!

RuthAdele
11-03-2011, 3:49pm
Hi All!

I'm about to move to a new position as a web developer, but currently i work exclusively as a photographer/editor/sales assistant for a jewellery company (but at shop assistant wages...)
When i put in my notice to move to my new job, i'm going to ask for casual work as their photographer. But the big question is: What should i charge!?!

I figure it should be an hourly rate. Because the shoots and editing and magazine layouts that i do vary dramatically depending on the piece of jewellery, or magazine that i'm working on.

I've been doing it for 3 years (if that makes any difference)
So does anyone have any ideas on a starting point? :confused013

Thanks,
Ruth.

kiwi
11-03-2011, 3:52pm
Ruth, hopefully you intend to become a regular contributor to AP ?

I think youve already set the benchmark on price

RuthAdele
11-03-2011, 4:25pm
Ruth, hopefully you intend to become a regular contributor to AP ?

I think youve already set the benchmark on price

I'm not sure what you mean...? How have i set the benchmark?
And to answer your first question - yes! This does seems like a very interesting forum with people with a great interest in Photography (as i have)

:)

kiwi
11-03-2011, 4:40pm
what I mean is that they are expecting now (probably) you to do photography at "shop assistant wages" since this is their current experience

as to the question on how much you should charge there's simply no exact answer for that. It depends on your skills, the end use if the images, the costs you have, the competition and so on, whether you retain copyright etc

I generally work out a cost on an hourly rate basis, and I dont want to get out of bed so to speak for less than $100 an hour - but this will vary considerable up or down for others - even charging on an hourly rate is only one way.

So, what are you worth ? How much profit do you need to make to cover costs and time ?