PDA

View Full Version : newbie with nikon d3100

aussiegrl
24-02-2011, 7:48pm
Ok so i came a cross this forum in a google search and im so glad i did. Ive read through quite alot of topics so far.

Im a complete noob to photography to be honest, i just dont understnad all the camera talk lol

Im wanting to photograph a friends newborn baby next week. The settings i have been told to use are
f/2.8 to f/4.5
and iso at 100

I can change the iso but cant for the life of me work out how to change the aperture. The lowest it seems to go is around 4. Which settings should i have this on. M A S P auto, portrait..... im so confused.

the camera i am using is the new nikon d3100

arthurking83
24-02-2011, 8:41pm
I suspect that you're using a kit lens. if f/4 is the lowest you can go, then the kit lens may be an f/4-5.6.

that sounds like a 55-200VR lens, so yes!.. the largest aperture you can then use is f/4.

for f/2.8 you need a more professional type lens. More profesional doesn't necessarily mean lots of $$$!! Tamron and Sigma make good general purpose lenses for decent money that maintain f/2.8 across their zoom range.

NOTE: with your f/4-f? lens, you can shoot it at longer focal length(say 200mm) step back.. A LOT! and focus in tight and close. you still get some decent separation and hence background blur.
At the moment, until you decide to invest in some fast glass, this is about the best you can do.

NOTE 2: for not much money, you can also get a fast prime lens fixed at either 35mm or 50mm and f/1.8. Nikon's versions of these lenses cost about $200 (give or take) and allow you to get very decent portrait images. (I'd recommend the 35/1.8 for Dx(which is what you have).

farmer_rob
25-02-2011, 9:07am
Make sure you do some practice before you try photographing your friend's newborn.

If you can't get f numbers lower than 4, this will be a limitation of the lens that came with your camera.