PDA

View Full Version : Copyright and ownership question

triptych
03-02-2011, 2:34pm
Hi,

I've been asked by a friend to do a swimsuit shoot for her, she will be the model in them. She only wants me to take the photo's of her, she will be doing any post processing of them, as she wants the photo's to reflect her style which is confusing to me as I'd be the photographer so really it'd be my style so im not sure why she wants them to reflect her style?

She will be putting the photo's on her blog, and she will allow me to use 3 images for me to edit and publish as I like and as the images would be owned be her, I need to ask for written consent to use them.

Now this could be perfectly normal but just wanted to check before I sign anything as im really new to all this.

Thanks

Kym
03-02-2011, 2:55pm
By default YOU own the copyright! (I assume your getting paid and that you are a contractor/supplier and not an photographic employee.)

So I would get a written contract whereby you grant her a limited license to use, edit and publish for a particular purpose but you keep the copy yourself. (Normal)

I would also get some professional legal advice, esp. if you intend to keep doing this sort of work.

kiwi
03-02-2011, 3:13pm
are you getting paid ?

i wouldnt personally let anyone have my raw files to edit them - what if she does crud like selective colouring or stuffs it completely, but its attributed to you ?

ricktas
03-02-2011, 3:13pm
Depends Kym!

Domestic Portraiture in Australia is covered under a separate part of the Copyright Act, and the client owns copyright, not the photographer. So we need to know here is this a domestic agreement, or a commercial one. What is the intent of the lady's blog? if she wants swimsuit shots, is the blog advertising herself as a model, etc. If so, then it is a commercial agreement, not a domestic one.

We need to know more here about the reason behind the shoot to answer correctly.

triptych
03-02-2011, 3:55pm