PDA

View Full Version : Wedding lens hep

Shelley66
31-01-2011, 10:13am
My Dad (who is 65) is getting married again in April :) He is just having a low key afternoon garden wedding and has asked me to do the photos. Now, I am no pro and have told him so - although I can take a reasonable picture - however he has said that what I take will be good enough for him. I have a 7D with 50mm 1.4 and 100mm that I will definitely take with me. I also have the very basic kit lens 18-55 and a 70-300 F4 (normal one). I am going to hire a lens and thought of the 70-200 F2.8. Is this my best option or should I go with something like the 24-70? I will also have a flash. Thanks!

kiwi
31-01-2011, 10:37am
I'd also go the 70-200 and also an additional camera body

LJG
31-01-2011, 10:49am
I'd also go the 70-200 and also an additional camera body

Yep, agree with Kiwi, nothing like trying to capture a great moment and having to swap lenses to do it justice.

MarkChap
31-01-2011, 11:01am
Seriously, Shelley if your dad is happy with the photos you take and is happy to accept what you produce for him just keep doing what you have been doing.

Shoot with your 50 f1.4 and if you want a bit more length then use your 100mm

Rent/hiring a lens is maybe a good idea, but you will be shooting with unfamiliar equipment, are you going to get the best out of it ??

If you must have another lens for the day then yes a 70-200 would be a good choice, yes in a perfect world a second body would be ideal, I don't however think either are going to be critical to you doing your dads day justice

Shelley66
31-01-2011, 11:47am
Thanks everyone for your replies! I do have a 30D I can take as well.
What you say makes sense Mark as I would only get the hire lens the day before and not be familiar with it. Thanks!

Arg
31-01-2011, 6:39pm