PDA

View Full Version : Post processing for begginer

missaj
14-01-2011, 2:14pm
I am a beginner and want to start playing around with post processing of images. I would appreciate any advice or recommendations on some good programs for beginners. I am not ready to spend a lot of money at this stage, so I'm more interested in any free or cheaper options. Thanks:)

pcbermagui
14-01-2011, 3:10pm
You Cannot go past Picasa from Google, thats free but still packs a huge feature set and its simple once you work your way around. Adobe Photoshop elements will do just about everything a photographer wants V9 is the latest and thats something like $150. Have a look at Lightroom 3 or ACDsee Pro 3 LR's a bit pricey but many claim that almost removes the need for full blown Photoshop for most. Then there's Photoshop CS5 the latest in the series, but unless you've got a very good reason the asking price is horrendous. Elements would be my pick if I were starting over.
pcbermagui

missaj
16-01-2011, 7:46pm
Thanks for the advice - I am having a play around with Picasa now and will also look at elements for a starting point - much appreciated! :)

ricktas
16-01-2011, 8:10pm
Also consider 'the gimp", google it. It is free and offers you a good range of features that when you decide you want to upgrade to Elements etc, then the learning will already have been done, and the menu system, processes are a bit familiar.

One of the best places to learn post processing from (other than friends or formal courses) is youtube. You will be quietly impressed by the number of video tutorials you can find on there.

burgo
27-01-2011, 7:05pm
Hi I also had the same question as missaj so thanks for the info. I have used picasa for basic stuff and its pretty good for that.
Just another question I have Elements v5 which I really haven't played with to be honest but is there
a huge difference between v5 and v9 to warrant an upgrade? Or could I get away with v5 to do enough to get by?

ricktas