PDA

View Full Version : Advice......SIGMA APO 150-500 F5-6.3 DG OS HSM

doppelganger
24-12-2010, 12:19pm
Hi All, I thought I'd buy myself an early Chrissie present:xmas31:.
On a budget,so, I researched and came up with SIGMA APO 150-500 F5-6.3 DG OS HSM. Just arrived today from Hong Kong, the only problem is it has no OS:(.The Description and pictures on E-Bay were OS version...SIGMA APO 150-500 F5-6.3 DG OS HSM....the Lens is not, the box has no OS on it(SIGMA APO 150-500 F5-6.3 DG HSM) ,but the instruction manual(sheet) enclosed states SIGMA APO 150-500 F5-6.3 DG OS HSM.

I'm new to all this and have a limited understanding of OS(optical stabilization) and alike. How important is OS ?,and if they have made a genuine mistake, should... (1) I try to get reduction on the price paid or (2)post it back and wait for the OS version.

Steve

jwheat65
24-12-2010, 12:27pm
Is this for the Pentax? I had thought that Pentax mount lenses didn't have OS (IS?) because the body does. Or am I barking up the wrong tree...
Just a thought. Sorry I don't have time to research it.

Cheers. :santa:

ving
24-12-2010, 12:37pm
true. pentax go for OS in the body its self... the k10d does too therefore not needed in lens

ving
24-12-2010, 12:37pm
oh and congrats on the lens. it should be a good one... i have the nikon mount version.

doppelganger
24-12-2010, 12:56pm
Geez I could kiss you both, hmmmm...... David and John, that'd be just wrong:eek:,

Thankyou Gentlemen, a Merry Christmas to you both:D

I @ M
24-12-2010, 1:59pm
I am finding this one a little strange as I can't find any mention of a 150-500 without OS and the Sigma site (http://www.sigmaphoto.com/shop/150-500mm-f5-63-apo-dg-os-hsm-sigma) seems to indicate that the lens in Pentax mount has the OS function as standard.

doppelganger
24-12-2010, 2:19pm
You may be right I@M, just recieved this from the seller:

I am sorry about that. I think that Sigma had sent
us an old version lens.