PDA

View Full Version : Which Software to buy for Mac?

runhard
23-12-2010, 9:52am
Good Morning All,

I have recently moved to a mac laptop. Previously I was using a work computer which had CS3 on it. I could do the basics using this program as I am very new to photography. the mac has iphoto on it but I cant seem to be able to do anything with it. I have a canon 60D and the programs arent very good that come with it.

I would like opinions on what program I should get for my mac. I really only need basic stuff like cropping, editing, resizing etc. I figure I will move up to something better once I have improved my photography skills.

I have read through my of the threads here and will continue to read them as I try and work out which is best for me.

Cheers

colinl
23-12-2010, 10:26am
iPhoto will let you do the basic stuff, just click on the edit icon down in the bottom right of the window. Then you will have three tabs to choose from at the top right of the window. each tab has a range of basic tasks. Other than this Apple sell Aperture, this will do more and works pretty well. You still have the Adobe options. Lightroom is quite good and you can get Photoshop for the mac. Personally I think Lightroom is better for just the photo processing and cataloguing side of things. Photoshop is the way to go if you want to do more editing and painting of the images. Aperture and Lightroom are comparable products that each have their own way of handling the process of cataloguing and processing/editing images. I'm not sure which is better, each seems to work better in different areas than the other. Both have free trial versions, so give them a go and see how they work for you.

runhard
23-12-2010, 11:06am
Thanks Colin,

I just had a play with iphoto a bit more and worked out thanks to you. I might now look at aperture and lightroom and see if they are for me.

Cheers

Grant

Analog6
23-12-2010, 12:02pm