PDA

View Full Version : Amateur shooting: D700 or the D7000?

skunky
20-12-2010, 2:34am
Hi chaps,

I'm a keen amateur with all of 6 months of hard experience behind him, and already I'm looking for a new body to replace my rather feeble D3000. The little D3000 whilst a fine camera to take on holiday is really starting to show it's limitations as far as noise at highish ISO (anything > 800) and it's slight lack of dynamic range. The latter has become particularly apparent when trying my hand at landscape photography.

So with that said, the two bodies that I have been looking at are the D7000 and the D700. Now I know that half of you have probably just rolled your eyes and muttered something about the two cameras being completely different breeds, but hear me out for a moment. Taking the FF and APC sensor debate out of the equation for the moment, my main requirements are as follows:

Versatility. The camera has to be able to perform well in a diverse range of shooting environments such as birding, racing, portraits to landscapes. Landscaping and portraiture being the most important from that list.
High ISO performance. I'd love to have good IQ up until around the 6400 mark.
Image quality. When shooting landscapes, I simply need the sky to be completely free of artifacts and noise. The D700 appears to particularly good for presenting beautifully noise free gradients. The D7000, unknown?
Flash control. The body needs to have the ability to remotely control flashes, possibly even PC sync for studio work if I'm not getting far ahead of myself here.
Video is not so much of a concern.

So for those with many more years of wisdom under their belts, please look back and place yourself in my situation and let me know which body you'd opt for given the requirements. Criticism and suggestions are welcome as always.

Thanks chaps!

Joel

I @ M
20-12-2010, 6:11am