PDA

View Full Version : looking at new leses for my sony A350

carnige
14-12-2010, 5:34pm
hey guys im looking to buy 2 or 3 new lenses for my A350

what they will be used for are weddings some of the time. allot of portret work. and sports photography...

i have found that with the weddings i have been asked to do i have a 28-70mm lens which some of the time i find its not long enuff.... and i have a 55-200mm lens which is not shor enuff. so i was thinking of looking at some thing that has a wider length...

for the portret work and probably be used for the nice formal wedding shoots is a 50mm prime lens 1.8 or 1.4... i wont some very nice sharp pics.

and for the sports i was thinking of some along the lines of a 200 to 500 MM lens that can get down to around 5.6-6.5???

dose this sound ok or are there better options out there that ive missed? im still quite new to all this. ive still only got my twin lens kit with allot of accessoires

Boo53
16-12-2010, 2:46pm
Carnige

I have no real knowledge of whats involved in wedding work (other than that I have enough hassle dealing with owner builders and wouldn't ever consider getting involved with anything that involves Brides), but do you have a budget in mind.

Also if you're going to be doing wedding work, and getting paid for it I guess, perhaps up the budget for the lenses for that area and leave the sports side of it for the time being.

And then, of course, there's the matter of what sport. My sport, these days is Bushwalking, so largely landscape type shots. A long lens would be great for wildlife but I'm not going to carry that weight for 20-30km. Basketball is probably ok with a 200mm lens, as would be lawn bowls. Cricket & football could need 500mm or so, etc:

carnige
17-12-2010, 5:27pm