PDA

View Full Version : Remote Shutter release?

mwphoto
07-12-2010, 12:30am
I'm looking to buy a remote shutter release for my 50D but know nothing about them and would love some advice please:)

Looking on ebay there are a ton of non-genuine cordless and wireless remotes to choose from at ridiculously low prices - like only a couple of dollars (in researching I have even found instructions on how to adapt a hand free phone kit for the purpose).

The first question I have is is it possible for these non-genuine devices to damage or short circuit the camera?

Secondly is there any benefit to wireless over one with a cord, and are there other functions that different models control other than just the shutter release?

Thanks!

Speedway
07-12-2010, 12:43am
I have been using a non genuine cable remote on my 400D for a few years and a wireless remote on my 7d with no problems. Both these have the same features as the genuine ones. there is also one available that is programmable to take multiple timed shots. With wireless you can operate the camera without the restraints of a cable connection.
Keith.

hakka
07-12-2010, 6:17am
I got a cheapo (nikon copy), the plug was way too tight. Everytime I unplugged it i thought it would damage the socket.

I also got one of the 'aputure' programmable timer release from ebay (around $20). This is a very high quality piece of gear, highly reccommended.

jim
07-12-2010, 7:02am
http://www.phottix.com/

Excellent cheap remote releases, wireless releases and other stuff.

Thomp
07-12-2010, 7:23am
there are a few third party remotes that are quite popular like yonguo ( works as both flash trigger and wireless remote). If you want to go wireless I don't think there's many options for a genuine canon remote unless you feel like spending a fair bit.

Astroman
07-12-2010, 7:43am