PDA

View Full Version : Canon 50D and High Tone Priority and Auto Light Optimizer

kmcgreg
05-12-2010, 11:45am
Ok I am off on another trip in just over a week to Egypt, Jordan and Syria. Now I have usually taken in raw but it just gets too much when I get back to deal with all the space and processing. I am a bit of a novice with in camera jpeg. Now I am panicking after really checking out the menus that relate to jpeg. What are the best settings? Should I turn off the Auto Light Optimizer - not really sure what the benefit of this is. I can understand the benefit of the high tone priority in some situations ie backlight scenes - not sure if it makes much difference if I just leave it on. Next is exposure safety shift - heck why haven't I noticed any of this in the last 2 years!
My kids just snap and shoot on their high end point and shoots and generally get great shots - they are laughing at me now trying to work all this out.
Maybe I should just do raw! Anyway as always, I would love input from the site members.

tarwoona
06-12-2010, 6:10am
Hi,
i also have a 50D and also haven't taken much notice of those options.
I have the light optimiser off. Safety shift on as this lets the camera change exposure at the last second if something changes, though i dont think it every really happens. Tone priority off.
I shoot in raw+jpeg, though i dont know why i bother with the jpeg 99% of the time.
But i do have Lightroom and it makes managing and adjusting the RAW photos just all too easy and quick.

LJG
06-12-2010, 7:32am
I guess the easiest way to describe ALO on the 50D is it brings out more detail in the shadowed areas of an image if you set it to strong.

etherial
06-12-2010, 10:11am