PDA

View Full Version : reverse macro adaptor help

Danielle10
29-11-2010, 7:19pm
I have just recieved a reverse macro adaptor for my a200.
A friend said that I connect it to the body of the camera and then turn my kit lens around and plug it in.
Well it all fits but doesnt do anything. I cant see anything through the view finder (yes the lens cap is off) and when I press the shutter it tells me it is locked as there is no lens attached.

Can someone tell me what Im doing please, because I have no idea :o

arthurking83
29-11-2010, 8:09pm
I'm no expert with Sony gear, but I'm assuming that they will work roughly similarly as Nikon gear does.

With the lens reversed, the diaphragm(usually called aperture) is closed all the way down, that is to f/22 or something really small like that.
Thsi makes for an immensely dark image as it is(but when mounted the correct way on the camera, the camera itself holds the aperture fully open).
So, you have to figure out where the aperture prong is and use your finger to flip it open, so that you can see through the viewfinder.
The aperture prong will be spring loaded and flicking it from one extreme stop and allowing it to settle back to it's natural resting spot, you will see the aperture blades inside the lens open and close.

Also remember, the lens now works in reverse, so the image in the viewfinder is going to be in most respects just a blur, and you have to get REALLY close to your subject to see a focused image.

because there is no electrical/electronic connection from the camera to the lens, you also have to either guess exposure with a few test shots or know how exposure works. set the camera to Manual mode(full manual, not semi manual modes such as aperture or shutter priority.

I'm assuming you're using a normal modern lens with no aperture ring.