PDA

View Full Version : Macro lens for Canon 50D

SonjaT
13-11-2010, 8:14am
Hi All,

My first post!!
Let me preface my query with the statement - i am a newbie to photography. i know pretty much nothing but soooooo want to learn. i am reading and starting to practice. i have a Canon 50D.
However, i do find that i have a real appreciation for macro photography. To this end i have been researching buying a Canon 100mm macro lens. I've also been ready previous threads on this subject.
i have two questions.
1. Canon lens or Sigma?
2. 60mm or 100mm?
Unfortunately, can't afford an L series.
Thanks everyone. Can't wait for your responses.

jervisbay
13-11-2010, 12:21pm
I have a Canon 7D and have a Sigma 105 mm 2.8 macro lens, I also have a 50mm lens which I hardly use so I would definitely go for the 100 or 105mm. I am very happy with the results I get from the Sigma. The Canon 100mm is probably a bit dearer but should give great results.

Tannin
13-11-2010, 1:13pm
100mm class macro lenses for Canon, in order.

Canon EF 100/2.8L IS macro Clearly the one to have. It is the sharpest, has the best build quality, and is the only one with IS. Very reasonably priced for what it is
Canon EF 100/2.8 macro Was the benchmark lens in this class for many years. Still would be if it wasn't for the new L Series Canon.
Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro Markedly better optics than the Sigma 105.
Sigma 105mm 2.8 macro Not all that good by macro standards. See the ever-reliable Digital Picture (http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/Sigma-105mm-F-2.8-EX-DG-Macro-Lens-Review.aspx) review.