PDA

View Full Version : What is the Grey Market

larrywen
12-11-2010, 11:34am
I am very new in this filed, so many thing is not clear to me.

I've heard about gray market, but not sure what they are.

When I goto getprice.com.au and search for Cameras, I find a shop called eGlobal which sells cameras much cheaper than the local shop. Is eGlobal a gray market provider?

Thank you.

ricktas
12-11-2010, 11:39am
Gray Market is where an item is either brought into Australia or sourced from overseas via a non-official channel. So Canon Australia are the official suppliers of Canon gear to all the retail outlets around Aus. Nikon Aus is the same for Nikon gear. So when you go and buy from most camera stores or say your Harvey Norman's etc, their stock is sourced from the afformentioned suppliers.

Now say there is an online store, that doesn't buy its stock from Canon Aus, but rather imports it from Hong Kong. So they get a supplier in Hong Kong, do a deal and buy all their stock form the Hong Kong supplier and the supplier ships it direct to their store. That is Gray Market. Often this results in a cheaper price, but you also might lose out on certain things, like an Australian Warranty, so say your camera breaks down after 3 months, there is a chance that you would have to pay for the repair, where if you bought via the local official supply chain, the camera might get fixed for nothing under warranty.

Bercy
12-11-2010, 1:52pm