PDA

View Full Version : Macro: Where to start with 550D

silkdiver
03-11-2010, 1:57pm
My 1st DSLR should be in my hands next week. :party6: I especially love macro, there's just something about little critters and flora. I have done a lot of macro on my Oly 5050, both on land & underwater, but now it's a giant leap to DSLR.

My new setup will be 550D, with kit lens EF-S 18-55 IS and EF-S 55-250mm IS.
I have read heaps and am now confused "a bit" on what to get for starter macro.

Unfortunately, I am on a tight budget, so I was thinking of getting the cannon EF 50 f/1.8 lens with the Hoya 55mm Close Up 1+2+4 Filter set to start off with.
Am I on the right track? or is there a better solution, or other suggestions.

AdamC
03-11-2010, 3:02pm
Well, the 50/1.8 isn't a macro lens, so will be sure to disappoint if that's your intended purpose. It's a fine lens for the money, but not for macro. I'll defer to others on which macro lens to buy though as I have no experience in this area.

ving
03-11-2010, 3:55pm
you would be better off with a dedicated macro lens. if you are low in budget then the tamron 90/2.8 is an excellent... I envy that you are tackling the idea of macro on a canon as you have the option of the mp-e 65mm when you start to get serious :)

Roosta
03-11-2010, 4:17pm
In the forum section, there is a link to the camermarket,com.au, there is under the canon lens section a couple of good ssecond hand lenses, From memory there is a TAmron 90 and a Canon 60mm good starting places.

Hop ethis helps, Also in the sites search tab, and also in more threads in the canon link , there is a lot of discussion regarding the macro lenses available. If you like critters, I started a thread in the Canon forum, Look for Sigma 150 mm APO,read on.