PDA

View Full Version : Teeth Whitening

Cand2010
03-11-2010, 9:59am
Hi everyone

I really need some help with post processing an image. I have some photos I have done for a friend and they have stained teeth. I have tried the teeth whitening brush in lightroom three but the stains still look bad and now un natural. Please does anyone have any recommendations on how to make them look natural. The stains are like lines through the bottoms of the top teeth.
Please please help. Im still very new to this.

Thankyou :)

kiwi
03-11-2010, 11:32am
Can you post the original picture ?

Do you have photoshop - or just LR ? (try also downloading Seim's Teeth Whitening brush for LR

Cam Scott
04-11-2010, 10:12am
Here is my method for White Teeth. (Need Photoshop)

Using the Lasso tool, feather 2 px and make a selection closely around the teeth, avoiding the gum line / lips.
cmd/ctr + J to create a new layer via copy with this selection. Click on this new layer to select it and name it "Teeth"
Create a new Adjustment Layer - Hue/Saturation (This should sit on top of the Teeth Layer)
cmd/ctr + Click back on the Teeth layer to select the "Teeth' then click cmd/ctr I to invert selection
Click on the Adjustment Layer Mask. Make sure your colours are reset to B&W ( Press D) then swap to make black the foreground colour (press X)
Click and hold Shift+F5 . This brings up a window asking what to fill with. Select Foreground Colour and hit OK.

You now have a fully adjustable hue/saturation layer just for the teeth.
Go ahead and firstly reduce the (master) saturation by around -60 and have a look. Adjust as you see fit. (This will remove the colour of the teeth, but will retain the texture)

You can also try selecting the 'Yellows' and do the same thing and compare the result.

Save your image first as a PSD file, then make a flattened copy. You can at any time revisit and adjust if you've gone too hard! I do a lot (revisit)