PDA

View Full Version : Photography Resume

tomtom1
25-10-2010, 11:53am
Hi guys,

I was pleasantly surprised to stumble over the fact that a photo I submitted to National Geographic a while ago was featured in their photo of the day in May, and currently seems to be the headline photo for their travel guide to New Zealand

http://travel.nationalgeographic.com/travel/countries/new-zealand-guide/

http://photography.nationalgeographic.com/photography/photo-of-the-day/good-shepherd-church-new-zealand/

I'm not a photography pro by any means, but in my field, demonstrating interests outside professional work is always a bonus so I was keen to include this on the bottom of my CV.

I know it's not that impressive in the grand scheme for a pro photographer, but I was wondering whether anyone tends to put things like these on their resume, how to format it, and how you retain a record given that it won't always be up there on the website.

ricktas
25-10-2010, 12:22pm
To get a record of it being there, do a screen dump (windows PC : Alt + PrtCr)

Then go into your editing software, create a new document and generally you will be asked for size, from the drop down, choose 'clipboard', when you have your new blank document, go Edit > Paste : A copy of the screen will now be your document. Save as you wish.

Note that this is effective fairly much on any website, but be aware you could be breaching copyright be doing so. Certainly if you do a screen dump of another person's photography, and use it for any purpose, you are breaching that photographers copyright, so use at your own risk!

tomtom1
26-10-2010, 2:43pm
Thanks Rick

Wasn't entirely sure how legit a screen grab would be.

Anyway I took on your suggestion, but found some firefox plugins that allow you to capture the entire page, even if off screen (screengrab, pearl crescent). The other thing I tried was print to pdf, but it came out all jumbled due to php

Cheers

jev
27-10-2010, 1:05am