PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice on new gear - portrait lens and flash unit

Tonita
10-10-2010, 5:12pm
Hi

I'm a novice photographer looking for some advice on new gear. I have a 400D (bought with a twin lens kit), and an EF 24-105mm (which is the lens I usually use). I mostly take photos of my family (kids mainly), and whatever else I come across at the parks, lakes, and beaches we visit on weekends/holidays.

I am looking to buy a portrait lens, and am presently tossing up between the Canon 50mm 1.4 or Sigma 50mm 1.4. I'm leaning towards the Sigma as it has a larger filter size - but would appreciate some advice. It's really just to get some great portrait shots of my kids (and any other kids I take a pic of).

I'm also looking to buy a off-camera flash. I have only ever used my built-in flash, but the tax man was nice to me this year, so thought it's time to splash out. At the moment I'm looking at the Canon 580 EX II or the Sigma 530 Super. As I said, I never used an off-camera flash, so don't know anything about these. Again - any advice appreciated.

Of course - if there are other options that you would recommend, add these to the mix. Budget is an issue (of course) but the prices of the options I am currently looking at are OK.

Thanks
Tonita

kiwi
10-10-2010, 5:37pm
Id go a 50 1.8 and 580EX

The 1.4 is faster, but, as a new to slr photography 1.4 is diabolically hard and 1.8 is fine.

Tonita
10-10-2010, 8:59pm
Thanks. Not having used either the 1.4 or the 1.8, I appreciate the advice. Will I eventually want to upgrade? I guess I had pitched at the 1.4 level, as it was within my budget, and the better of the two lenses. When you say 'diabolically hard' - are you meaning difficult to use?

Thanks
Tonita

NikonUser
10-10-2010, 9:04pm
I would also add an 85mm lens into your considerings.... a great focal length for portraits.