PDA

View Full Version : Question for ProTogs - accounting/invoicing software ?

MajickStudio
09-10-2010, 10:07am
I'm in the process of setting up my photography business & am at the point where I need a comprehensive software package for the accounting & invoicing, as well as creating a customer database

I have looked at a few different options (eg, quickbooks)
- but I'm wondering what other Aussie Pro Photographers use / recommend & why

I'd really appreciate some honest opinions - thanks

arthurking83
09-10-2010, 10:32am
warning! I'm not a pro photographer, but work as a sub contractor-courier, and have to do all my accounting(so take my reply with a grain of salt)

I love Quicken's QuickBooks.. easiest accounting program I found.. but this is coming form an accounting dunce too!

if you have any semblance of an idea on accounting, and accounting practices and terminology, MYOB is better in a lot of ways.

My brother also runs his own transport business, but also employs other drivers, and he found MYOB was more powerful, and he has a better understanding of accounting as that's more his line of work in the transport business.. not so much as good driver
(in that respect he's useless! :p)

I also tried MYOB and found the techniques it requires you to use, much harder to 'master', as it always requires the user to 'invoice' for every input.
(thsi is something I dont; understand, as when all I want to do is input an expense(with the relevant GST and other taxes), Quicken simply asks how much, and does it's work seamlessly.

I just found this method easier to perform.

I have had issues with Quicken tho, and it's specific to my situation.
i started with v8(CashBooks) and also got an upgrade to CashBooks 2004. Because it's an upgrade I have to install v8 first and then upgrade to 2004.