PDA

View Full Version : 7D & 5D MkII

Digiphilic
08-10-2010, 5:53pm
Hello everyone,

Does anyone own both of these bodies together? When do you use the 7D and the 5D MkII and do you often carry both with you?

Which one did you have first before acquiring the 2nd? And is it an overkill to own both (if one can afford it)?

Your opinions on this would be most helpful. Thank you.

I @ M
08-10-2010, 5:59pm
I'm not a Canon expert but in the current range of models they seem to compliment each other nicely in much the same way as the Nikon DX and FX models that share similar bodies and batteries work well together.

And is it an overkill to own both (if one can afford it)?

In my humble opinion there is no such thing as overkill when it comes to owning gear that you can afford. :rolleyes: Go forth, purchase and keep the economy moving. :D

etherial
08-10-2010, 6:57pm
I would love to own both. Would be very useful for me with the type of shooting I do, being dog events. To have a 5D setup with a wide zoom on it which I would use for standing posed shots and then the longer zoom on the 7D (with benefit of crop sensor) for use in the events ring, where reach and speed is the premium.

That would be my dream setup. Not at all overkill IMO ;)

Babu
09-10-2010, 1:16am
I've owned both since their respective releases and have found them to be a magic combination. They were purchased as upgrades for my previous combo (5D & 40D).

In each case the crop factor body supplied the extra speed over the full frame but each pair shared the same battery type (different grips though).

My wife and I travel extensively and capture wildlife, panoramic, architectural, macro & people shots. In many locations, a range of shot opportunities present themselves and there's no time to change lenses- in many circumstances, dust, salt spray, snow, rain or sleet prohibit changes anyway. So a 100-400mm or a 500mm on the 7D and a 16-35mm or a 24-105mm on the 5D Mk II can cover quite a few situations.