PDA

View Full Version : What to upgrade!

sprocket
06-10-2010, 9:25pm
Hi! Currently have a 450D twin IS kit.

Wanting to upgrade lens/flash. Specifically I will be shooting nighttime events in conjunction with my DJ business! So from house parties/21sts/sporting functions ect. Lots of low light/indoor/nighttime shooting with DJ lighting ect in the background.

I assume the most important thing is a Speedlite? A new lens would also be nice (been looking at the 17-70?) but the 18-55 does do a decent enough job.

any advice appreciated!

unistudent1962
06-10-2010, 9:47pm
It sounds as though you're pretty close to the subjects you're shooting.
If that's the case and you want to stick with Canon, a 430EXII flash should handle the job comfortably.
You should be able to pick one up for around $350. After haggling I got one from Hardly Norman last year for $330 including 4 quality NMHi batteries and charger.
There are other 3rd party flashes available but I have no experience with them.

A faster lens also helps in low light. Something like a Canon 50mm f1.8II should only set you back about $100. Just remember you have to zoom the old fashioned way..... moving closer or further away from your subjects!!!
If money is no object, you'll find lots of positive comments on here about 17-50 f2.8 lenses, both Canon and 3rd party.
Hope this helps.

RaoulIsidro
06-10-2010, 10:15pm
16-35mm f2.8L will cover those venues nicely. The fast aperture will capture the ambient colours of the gig. A 430 EX II will provide good fill flash. Don't get the 270 EX, it is poorly designed and lots of problems with annoying focus pre flash. The 220 EX is actually a better bargain at less than $99 on eBay!
Good luck!;)

sprocket
06-10-2010, 10:20pm
Cheers so far! The 430 looks like it might be a winner, found a few for 300ish on ebay! Budget certainly is an issue (for the next few months while im still full time uni, atleast) so the 16-35mm looks a bit out of reach!

Bercy
07-10-2010, 5:44pm