PDA

View Full Version : 55-250mm vs 70-200 IS f4

Tanne
28-09-2010, 9:19pm
I went today to a local camera store and did get to do some shots from both lenses. Loading them to my computer I really can't tell or justify the difference in pictures - must just be because I am an amateur and not sure how to get the best from both so maybe I should just get the cheaper 55-250 lens? Though many on forums over and over again have said and in all the reviews etc that the 70-200mm f4 with IS is way better and the one to get!! I sooo can't decide! But at the moment I am like I just can't justify the extra cost!

Plus the (really helpful!!) guy at the store today said you can't really tell the difference at 200mm between the both - is that true?

I mainly want one for a few weeks of travelling I am going to be doing.... and then I can get more or others at a later date... but then why buy the cheaper one now if I am just going to get the more expensive one later probably anyway.

(Firemansam I hope your not reading this! I decided to ask this before seeing your post and I thought I would come here as I love Aussie advice as its so honest and blunt typically! LOL but congrats it is nice and for a long term camera its weather sealing is worth it :) )

I know this is my third thread on this so please feel free to not reply! LOL

ZedEx
29-09-2010, 8:15am
Zoom into 100% magnification on your screen and compare the images size by side. The other thing to consider is image contrast and colour saturation. Lenses have a big image on this, other than just outright sharpness. I'm positive the 70-200 will look loads better. Even if you can't put your finger on why. Also, look for high contrast areas like around windows etc to see if there is much CA (chromatic aberration) This will be green or magenta glowing lines around things. Cheaper lenses are more likely to do this

Tanne
29-09-2010, 12:39pm
Okay thank you ZedEx - will have a closer look again today!

Old Skool
29-09-2010, 12:41pm