PDA

View Full Version : Camera Freezes with Extension Tube on it.

Mary Anne
26-09-2010, 1:23pm
Using my Canon 40D with the Tamron 90mm macro on it works ok though the focus does not seem the best lately.

Pop on the Kenko 36mm Ex Tube and the lens screams to find the focus on A/F so I put it on M/F then is freezes when I press the shutter button, and looking through the viewfinder I see a dark screen not black more a very dark grey like looking at a very noisy night time pic. I turn the camera off and I can still hear the motor going so I take out the battery and the CF card then I hear a click as though its fixed itself, I take off the ex tube and the problem disappears, there is no Error message.

Today I was taking a pic of a green spider having no problems then decided to put the Hoya +2 close up filter on it and the same thing happened it froze again as above and I did the same thing then removed the Hoya filter.. I have been using that close up filter for a couple of years and have had no problems with it before, though could never master the ex tubes that I got for Christmas having only used them about three times previously and thought I would give them a go recently and this is when it all started

Not game enough to put the macro lens with either the ex tube or the close up filter on my 5D so I was wondering if any of you great Folks on here have had this kind of problem with any of the accessories mentioned above.

Maybe it's time to buy a new macro lens as my little tamron macro could be worn out seeing its my oldest and most used lens, or perhaps its the 40D that's causing the problem, just wish I knew how to work out what is causing the problem hoping someone can help me here on how to check either of them out. Thank You.

arthurking83
26-09-2010, 2:05pm
Depending on the exact extension tube you got yourself, this could be perfectly normal.