PDA

View Full Version : Which option should I take?

Tanne
09-09-2010, 7:53pm
I am a amatuer photographer and am going on a holiday soon to Islands in the Pacific. I already own a 50d and 17-55 IS lens. I'm wanting a zoom/longer focal length. I need one regardless anyway!

I have worked with two cameras before at once and found it easier/I liked it - the 50D I have now and with a powershot which gave me a zoom/longer focal length and which was nice and light but my powershot is now years old and playing up. What option should I take so I can have the superzoom with my wide angle lens?

1. Buy a 70-200 IS F4

2. Buy a 550D and a 55-250mm canon lens - this is what I would rather do - I don't enjoy changing lenses and then can just pull out the camera I want when needed. It can be a back up camera as well. So then I would take the 550d and 50d one with the zoom lens and one with the wide angle.

3. Just buy the 55-250mm canon lens for my 50d and change lenses when needed - and then I could afford to buy extras that would be handy/nice to have like extra memory cards, a CF filter, a good quality bag, maybe a tripod. Possibly a 50mm prime lens I could afford to get then to.

Thanks for any help!

old dog
09-09-2010, 8:16pm
sounds like a dilema. I think I`d go option three. I`m actually considering getting a panasonic fz40 as I had the fz 30 before the nikon D80 which I now have. The superzoom is pretty handy...in good light. I`m getting a sore shoulder carring all the weight of cam, a few lenses etc in the bag....so this would be great for holiday shooting and I`d leave the nikon at home.

Tanne
09-09-2010, 8:25pm
Thanks old dog! Yes its good to have superzoom even if on P&S! The quality of the P&S has grown so much and hopefully will continue to!

old dog
09-09-2010, 8:30pm
thats right.......I keep hanging off, but there will always be something better next week, so you should just get it and enjoy it.

Tanne
09-09-2010, 8:40pm
Yes very true! :)

Brian500au