View Full Version : Paint shop

08-09-2010, 8:02am
Everywhere I look people are using photoshop. I've been using paintshop for about 5 years now and find it does everything I need,am I missing out on something, is there more out there ,is it worth the extra expense.Thanks in advance Wheellathe

08-09-2010, 8:08am
basically the same adjustments etc are available in PSP as in PS, the tutorials for PS often are translatable into PSP, you just need to know where to find the tools. The menu items differ, by location and maybe named slightly differently, but certainly it can all be done in PSP.

08-09-2010, 8:52am
Thanks for that ,muchly appreciated

10-09-2010, 10:52am
Wheellathe, what a relief it is to talk to someone who doesn't assume you use PhotoShop.

I used PSP 3, 4 & 6 at work a number of years ago. Later, I was a registered owner of PSP Studio, but lost the license key when I changed computers and Corel would not honour the JASC purchase (via DigitalRiver), even though I produced the receipt. So I lost interest in PSP.

I've been using The GIMP, but got into trouble with layers - I don't think it has any feathering on selection edges, so you've got to apply an extra Gaussian blur to the selection to do it.

So I tried trial versions of PSP X, X1, X2. Thought it had got too bloated, buggy & slow.

Later found a legit free promo version of PSP X on the net (with a nag screen to upgrade) and it seems stable enough, so I use that now if I want to perform any PP after raw conversion in SilkyPix Pro. I still do some things in The GIMP.

Here are some mentions of PSP X in my recent posts:


http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=64220 (some of my posts in this thread)

I find I muck around a lot when using layers in PSP. I eventually get what I want but I have to try a few times to get the layer/order/promotion and masking right. If you want to do a tutorial on that, I'd appreciate it. Otherwise I 'll write one when I understand it better, like I've done for parts of The GIMP & other stuff:









30-11-2010, 9:31pm
You will find same tools in that but name and built in different menu .....