PDA

View Full Version : Tips on shooting from cessnock plane

DSLR400D
04-09-2010, 2:02pm
Hi all,

I am planning on going on a flight by renting a cessnock from the banks town airport. My friend has the license to fly. I have never done this before and I was wondering if anyone has done it and has any tips.

We have not decided on which part of Sydney we will be flying but all options are open. I am looking at some advice on tips for shooting, tips on gear, etc.

Any advice would be helpful.

Regards,
D

Wayne
04-09-2010, 3:34pm
If you are flying from YSSY (Bankstown) I assume you mean you want to rent a Cessna, not a Cessnock (Small town in Hunter Valley NSW)?

If flying from YSSY, a great trip is North following the lane of entry, then turn East from Hornsby tracking to Long Reef before descending and turning South to track the coastline all the way down past Wollongong at 500ft AMSL, this is known as a Victor1 flight.

Once past the 'gong, track West to Wedderburn, and then approach YSSY from the SW and 2RN (VFR approach point) before joining the circuit and landing again.

One possible bonus of doing a Victor1 is that once you descend and start to track South from Long Reef, you can call Sydney CTR and request a track to the West from the Sydney Heads, and you can fly a few patterns near the Harbour Bridge, Opera House and CBD areas. Usually the clearance if given will require you to remain East of the bridge, and North of the Southern shore at all times, not below 2000FT AMSL (As this is also the rotary wing approach lane of entry over the CBD)