PDA

View Full Version : How'd you get started?

danny
01-09-2010, 10:41pm
Ok! I don't know how people are going to take this... but if you are a professional how did you get started? I don't have any current ambitions to quit my job and become a professional photographer it is just that I am curious. People are always posting questions about how to get into photography as a full time job and they are given advice from members and sometimes quick criticism about even wanting to in the first place. So to turn it around a little it would be great to hear from experienced and professional members about how they did it. Did they do courses, work at it for years before charging or just fall into it.

It would be great to hear

Cheers
Danny

jasevk
02-09-2010, 2:42pm
Well I'm only at the beginning of establishing a business... but basically I'm self taught over the past 5 years... I started out just shooting landscapes, and shooting portraits of friends and family for a few years. Wasn't until last year that I started shooting people other than family!

rowdy23
02-09-2010, 7:18pm
Well I'm only at the beginning of establishing a business... but basically I'm self taught over the past 5 years... I started out just shooting landscapes, and shooting portraits of friends and family for a few years. Wasn't until last year that I started shooting people other than family!

thats pretty much exactly my thoughts and hope to be ready to shoot ( for money ;) ) in that time frame.

i do alot of family stuff now and am learning all the time. so hopefully by then ill be ready to set up a website and a small online business to get my name out there.

jasevk
02-09-2010, 8:32pm
thats pretty much exactly my thoughts and hope to be ready to shoot ( for money ;) ) in that time frame.

i do alot of family stuff now and am learning all the time. so hopefully by then ill be ready to set up a website and a small online business to get my name out there.