PDA

View Full Version : Photos with WOW Factor

a pocket full
13-08-2010, 3:44pm
Hi there,

I'm new to dslr photography, I have been using my new camera for one month only.

My question is - Do you really need to have top notch lenses and up to date editing software to produce pictures with a wow factor?

I'm happy snapping dont get me wrong, but I see so many photos around with the wow factor and I'm wondering if some of these pictures are doable without the expensive stuff?

I have a 450D with kit lenses and also the nifty fifty.

Is it more time and experience or just better equipment and editing knowledge?

Any comments?

kiwi
13-08-2010, 3:48pm
that's not an esay answer, I think gear is probably the least important factor, but, for certain types of photography is more important. Editing is also important, but you can get wow photos straight out of camera too

There's no reason you can't get wow photos with what you have.....so...I think time and experience

ving
13-08-2010, 3:49pm
yes and no... i guess thats the simple answer. I find it best to try and get everything right in the camera so that little processing needs to be done. that said, a photo that looks really ordinary can be made to look exceptional with the correct post processing with photoshop or similar software.

as for the lens connection, i dont really have any pro lenses or fancy gear but i am quite happy with how my shots turn out (feel free to look thru my threads if you want). I'll always say "learn to get the most out of what you have before forking out money..." but thats me, and mainly cause i am perpetually short on cash :)

Elana
13-08-2010, 4:07pm