PDA

View Full Version : Is anyone contributing to Stock libraries?

jjphoto
10-08-2010, 11:36am
Is anyone contributing to Stock libraries?

If so, is it worth your time/effort?

What's working for you (what's selling) and what isn't?

Just qurious really. It seems that the Stock market is growing and the returns diminishing (for contributors) so just wondering if anyone has any real experiences to share.

JJ

mikew09
10-08-2010, 11:54am
Do a search on the forum, there is quite a number of posts on thsi topic - :-)

Cheers,

Mike

jjphoto
10-08-2010, 12:10pm
Do a search on the forum, there is quite a number of posts on thsi topic - :-)

Cheers,

Mike

Actually, I did, and the stuff I found was about a year old.

I know there is a negative bias towards micro stock from the majority of folks out there but I also know of people making some serious money on it. I'm curious about peoples experience with libraries, not perceptions. I have no experience with Stock Libraries as my images are not sellable as stock (cars are generally not sellabale).

I'm also not talking about RedBubble and similar sites which sell products, although I've done OK on RB. These are not stock libraries at all.

JJ

Tricky
10-08-2010, 7:42pm
I sell stock on all the major microstock agencies, though I don't put much effort into it.

As you mentioned, there's quite a few members on AP with a negative sentiment against stock. Whilst I respect their view, which tends to be along the lines of "micro is undermining the livelihood of pro photographers" and "micro stock is rubbish and tarnishes the photographic industry", I have a different take. Personally I think that:
(a) pro photographers who are good enough will make a living regardless of the existance of micro
(b) the market for the sale of photographic media is growing overall; whilst traditional macrostock isn't keeping pace with microstock, it is nevertheless growing, and