PDA

View Full Version : Artistic photography in the dark

clickclick
09-08-2010, 5:02pm
I saw some shots from an artistic photographer once and it looked amazing. I was wondering how he did it as I would like to have a play around with that myself! Ha ha. It may be really hard but im so curious. It looked like a black photo with swirls of light in it - sort of like when you swing your sparkler around. Im a complete noob and dont know your technical terms but basically i figure he left the shutter open for ages without movement on tripod and used a torch to create the swirls of light? Anyone have any ideas on how to do this or what settings?

kmaisch
09-08-2010, 5:17pm
Hey Clickclick.

Trial and error basically :) In the dark, put your camera on a tripod, set it to Manual mode, set the shutter speed to 30 seconds, and start with the widest aperture (smaller F-stop numbers).

Hit the shutter, then jump in the frame with a torch or sparklers or something... swirl them around and wait until you hear the camera click off after 30 seconds :) Then see the results.

If its too bright, bump the aperture up a bit. If it's still too dark, you'll need a way to extend the shutter speed (with a remote on the "Bulb" setting). Or increase the ISO.

Here are some cool examples: http://digital-photography-school.com/25-spectacular-light-painting-images

I think in some of these examples, they've also used the Flash at the end of the exposure to illuminate something else (like a person).

Kim

swifty
09-08-2010, 5:47pm
See this thread:
http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=37619
AP member Shane.R is a master at this style of photography.
But u got the concept right. Long shutter speed on tripod + a source of light to create your 'art'. You're only limited by your imagination.

clickclick
13-08-2010, 9:29am