PDA

View Full Version : New Sigma 530 Super on order!

BradGC
26-07-2010, 12:57am
So I just ordered a new flash, the Sigma EF 530 Super, and as I'm still really new to photography, I'm looking for suggestions of cool things to try my flash out.
I really want to do things like rear curtain trails etc, but I can't think of readily available moving objects to take pics of!
Also I saw a cool pic of a girl in the rain with the flash behind her (pointing at the camera to give her a silhouette) and the shutter speed is super fast to see the cool rain droplets, so would anyone have any suggestions as well to test out the remote / slave aspect of photography?

Any help appreciated, also some examples of other photos would be great to see.

PS a company called is selling the sigma flashes for only $AU 260 (almost half the price of other sites like digital camera warehouse)

Mod edit --- Please refer to the forum rules regarding the linking of commercial web sites

Kym
26-07-2010, 9:43am
I assume you ordered the P-TTL version?
There is a version for each of the main camera brands (Pentax, Cannon, Nikon, Sony, Oly)

BradGC
26-07-2010, 3:14pm
Yes, It also does wireless p-TTL, it works as both a remote flash or a slave with the current stock flash on the camera.

The main problem with the small built in flash is that my lens is quite long (18 - 125mm) and leaves a small round arc shadow on the bottom of most pics (I assume that this is pretty common with the stock flash)

Kym
26-07-2010, 3:20pm
In-built flashes - horrible things for a bunch of reasons...

Not that powerful
Too close the the axis of the lens, red-eye problem
Long/wide lens shadow issues
Too small and harsh
Cannot be taken off camera
Difficult to diffuse

Possibly useful when you have nothing else on a sunny day and need a bit of fill light.

BradGC
29-07-2010, 1:41am
Mod edit --- Please refer to the forum rules regarding the linking of commercial web sites