PDA

View Full Version : Birthday Present Ideas Please!

AnnieP
17-07-2010, 11:05am
Hi I am a newbie with a birthday coming up soon and hubbie wants to get me something for my Photography... either hardware or software

So I am after ideas on the 'can't manage without' item for no more than $250.00. :) I enjoy taking pictures of my kids and landscapes - but am keen to try anything new!

My small collection consists of -

Nikon D40X
18-55mm lens
55-200mm lens
Elements 8
Dummies Guide to Nikon D40X
Elements 8 beginners guide
Tripod

Ideas Please! :D

ricktas
17-07-2010, 11:11am
Seeing you enjoy landscapes, how about a filter system. Something like the Cokin P system with some filters?

Kym
17-07-2010, 11:23am
Save the $250 and mortgage Christmas pressies, and get a Sigma 10-20mm !!

Scotty72
17-07-2010, 11:25am
Seeing you enjoy landscapes, how about a filter system. Something like the Cokin P system with some filters?

Yes, I agree.

I recently invested in a P-Series Cokin filter adapter (and 2 slides). It is made a wonderful difference.

Only problem is, I have found that if you do wide angle stuff, the P-Series can't go that wide. So, I upgraded to the Z-Series - a wonderful system.

I note your widest is an 18mm (x 1. crop for 27mm equiv). So the P-series should suit you well. If you intend to one day go wide angle (say <20mm equiv) then the Z-Series might be worth the extra $$$.

You can get a good P-Series kit with room left over for your choice of extra slides well within that budget.

Scotty

AnnieP
17-07-2010, 11:28am
wow so many replies - I will have to research your ideas - cos it is still sounding like a foreign language to me!!

AnnieP
17-07-2010, 11:35am
Save the $250 and mortgage Christmas pressies, and get a Sigma 10-20mm !!

Just seen the price Kym! Looks good - but maybe see if the taxman brings anything this year... then maybe ..... Or perhaps I should keep feeding the children instead!

Regnis
17-07-2010, 12:16pm