PDA

View Full Version : Lens: to clean or not to clean

flake
16-07-2010, 11:37pm
Hi all, this is my first post in this forum and I am quite new in photography.

I bought my camera around a year ago and didn't put any filters on my two lenses due to lack of knowledge. Since then I have managed to put some dust and 'light' smudge on the lenses but I don't actually notice that it affect the picture quality.

Now that I have bought filters on both of them, should I clean my lenses? The reason I ask is because I am afraid that cleaning up lens will do some damage to it. And the fact that I don't notice any impact on the picture, I am not sure if I should clean it. Wondering if dust and smudge will eventually getting harder to clean if I leave it there for a long time.

Please advise. Thank you.

Kym
16-07-2010, 11:42pm
G'Day & Welcome - lets see some images in the main forums and have fun!

This explains it... http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=24526

flake
17-07-2010, 12:08am
Hi Kym, thank you for your reply. I have read that post before I posted my question. But that post didn't say anything about whether I should clean my lens. But now as you pointed me to it, I take it you suggested me to clean my lenses?

Cheers,

Kym
17-07-2010, 12:11am
Yes! Its pretty simple.

Erin
18-07-2010, 2:29pm
Yes, clean your lenses. Leaving dirt and smudges and grease on them can damage the coatings just as much. Just make sure you get a decent cleaning kit (they are fairly inexpensive) and tread lightly when wiping.

wideangle
18-07-2010, 4:02pm