PDA

View Full Version : What are my rights?

simonw
11-07-2010, 5:09pm
Gday folks

I am not a professional by any means, but I have just done a shoot for a fashion parade raising money for the Leukaemia foundation. I am more than happy for the charity to use the photographs at will and they plan to get some published in the local paper.

However, the company whose clothes were modelled in the parade are interested in getting a copy of my photos. They are a business and I believe that if they want to use my photos for commercial reasons, they should pay for them.

Is it possible for me to allow the charity to use the photos however they want, and still retain copyright if the business want to use the photos?

Thanks for reading my long-winded message... Now, back to the PP

Wayne
11-07-2010, 5:17pm
Short answer is yes!

If you are under no contractual arrangement to surrender copyright of the images, then, they are yours and you retain copyright. You can sell these images to whoever you like, for whatever price you can get on an individual basis, so the charity can have them free, and the fashion house can pay.

One thing you must consider is that anyone you sell the images to may intend to use them for promotional purposes and to use the likeness of any person contained in those photos, the person must agree to such use by way of a model release or other contractual arrangement.

ricktas
11-07-2010, 5:23pm
Agree with Wayne.

You need a contract with the charity that lets them use the photos for promotion of the cause only. Then you need a separate contract with the clothing company to let them use the photos for commercial reasons. It is not necessary, but good business practice to advise both of what you are doing, so they understand that the other organisation/business has a right to use the photos.

simonw
11-07-2010, 5:32pm