PDA

View Full Version : Landscape Shot Help

Dylfish
07-07-2010, 5:29pm
Hi Guys,

I’ve got a few questions on technique for landscape photography. Im looking at getting a Sigma 10-20 Wide angle lens because I believe my 24-70 does not do a great job of landscapes. As for capturing great landscape shots are there any golden rules I should be following in terms of:

Shutter Speed
Aperture
Metering
Things you’ve learnt.

I see so many great landscapes here it makes me wonder where I’m going wrong? mine seem bland and lacking, even at beautiful locations.

andylo
07-07-2010, 6:04pm
I am a beginner, so take my words with a grain of salt.

In terms of the hardware, personally I perfer either the Canon 10-22mm for sharpness, or Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 for possible (but very, very rare) flexibility on low light.

The following equipment is most important for my landscape works:
1) Very strudy tripod
2) ND/GND Filter

With the shutter speed/aperture/metering etc....

Most of the time I have my apeture setting above f10, have used f22 but have been told colour distortion will occurs.

I usually shoot landscape in manual mode. It really is just a trial and error process for me. In the day time, I tend to use auto bracketing. (Take 3 pics, one is normal, another 2 has Explosure Compensation on +2/-2 setting.)

At the night time, which usually need longer explosure time (i.e. 5 seconds or so?) I set the camera to Av mode, with ISO of 1600/3200 etc. Half press the button and get the reading. If I got... i.e. 3 seconds at f/11, then I just leave the Av at f/11, but step up the time by 3 steps (or 4 steps if ISO3200). 3 seconds at 1600, = 24 seconds at ISO200. The reason for low ISO is to avoid excessive noise.

ND/GND filter good for seascape/sunset kinda stuff.

I think I have said too much for an beginner, probably 1/2 the thing I said is rubbish :lol: I better let the real deals put in their opinion :D

Dylfish
07-07-2010, 6:19pm