PDA

View Full Version : Not enough time to change manual settings

mkemp11
07-07-2010, 4:45pm
I am a beginner photographer.

I have learned how to set the ISO and the white balance. I am learning about aperture.

But unfortunately, I do not trust myself whenever I have to take photos that are important, and inevitably rely on the automatic setting. (sometimes I have time to fiddle around with the camera - but for video for instance - it's really scary shooting with anything that's not automatic in case you screw it up)

I've been using the Canon Powershot A480 (http://www.digitalbestbuys.com.au/canon-powershot-a480-black.html) for my shots because it's cheap and easy to use. What suggestions do you have regarding 'fast tips" to make me more 'pro'.

ameerat42
07-07-2010, 4:55pm
Hi mkemp11. Welcome aboard. You'll learn a lot more here, for sure. Unfortunately, though, your camera doesn't seem to have many Manual features. Are you changing aperture in P mode? I had a look here at the specs. Am.
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0901/09011504canonpowershota480.asp#specs

ricktas
practice! Once you are more used to your gear, you will change settings without even consciously thinking about it. It will just happen! The only way to get to that point is practice, practice and more practice.

I often change shutter speed and aperture without even looking at the LCD. I know how many 'clicks' I need to turn the wheel to go from say 1/100th of a second to 1/500th. You also have the benefit of being able to see the settings in the viewfinder, so try and get used to using those (if available on the powershot), cause then you don't need to stop viewing the scene to look at the lcd to change the settings etc.

Kym
G'Day & Welcome - lets see some images in the main forums and have fun!

Practice!
Try taking shots that are not just snaps - eg. landscape where you have time to set it all up and try different settings.
Use Av rather than full manual - work on controlling your DoF at first.