PDA

View Full Version : Canon 50D help needed.

BecM
28-06-2010, 1:27pm
I have just inherited the most incredible gift. A canon 50D (barley used) and two lens. A canon efs 17 - 55 and a ef 70 -300.

I have been using a canon 400D for the last two years and have a basic understanding of this camera and the basic lenses that came with it.

I am going to buy a book to help me get the most out of the 50D but the lenses escape me. I haven't had much of a chance to play with them yet but which would be the lens I keep on the camera the most? Any information will be very much appreciated. I have large shoes to fill with this camera.

flash
28-06-2010, 1:39pm
you lucky bugger, I had to buy mine, I find the lens I have at the moment (an 18-200) is a very good "all round lens", even though it is the only one I have at the moment I'm finding it a very good lens, I would class it as an "all rounder" but someone will come along with more knowledge than I in such matters

kmcgreg
28-06-2010, 9:36pm
Hi - welcome to the 50D - you will love it. I particularly like the 17-55 lens - great in low light.

I have a couple of 50D books but the best was some instructional DVDs - I am not sure of the rules linking to other sites so you can just google this: Michael Andrews - he makes a variety of great DVDs that I have bought - both on the 50D but also photoshop and flash techniques as well as basic photography - good to get you started even if you aren't a complete noob.

Shelley
28-06-2010, 9:56pm
I have just inherited the most incredible gift. A canon 50D (barley used) and two lens. A canon efs 17 - 55 and a ef 70 -300.

I have been using a canon 400D for the last two years and have a basic understanding of this camera and the basic lenses that came with it.