PDA

View Full Version : Wedding prices?

Alysia
25-06-2010, 4:26pm
I have never done any wedding photography before. But I have been asked to do my friends wedding next July.

I was wondering if anyone could help me out with pricing.
Is there a rough hourly rate that I should use?

Or is there any other tips anyone can give me on pricing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

kiwi
25-06-2010, 4:29pm
Dont do it. I know that's not helpful, but, unless you are a wedding photographer already and/or have considerable experience and all the gear then it's a recipe for disaster.

ricktas
25-06-2010, 4:31pm
No rough hourly rate, sorry. When you consider some shoot weddings for $800.00 and others charge $20,000.00 and more, there is no 'going rate', you have to work it out for yourself.

There are a huge range of factors that come into play when quoting for a wedding.

Your hourly rate, post processing time, travel time, gear, production of an album (and the cost of the album), photos on disk. DVD of the photos (with music). etc etc.

It is impossible for someone to say "Charge $xxx.00", without a good knowledge of the actual agreement you are entering into with the happy couple.

kiwi
25-06-2010, 4:33pm
Oh, read this thread too:

http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=38349&highlight=wedding+photo

:)

ricktas
25-06-2010, 4:36pm
I would like to add some comments too!

Just had a look at your Flickr pages. I notice you have a 450D, do you have a backup camera (what if your camera dies part way through the wedding - it does happen), backup batteries, flash? What lenses do you own?

JM Tran
25-06-2010, 4:44pm
because you are shooting a friend - I would not charge at all for the wedding photos, or dont do it.

Wayne
25-06-2010, 4:53pm
I say ^^ is good advice. If you did it for nothing and got it wrong, they might hate you, but charge them and get it wrong and they will surely hate you.