PDA

View Full Version : Zoom lens or fixed macro lens

mocha2204
22-06-2010, 1:17pm
Hi all,

I am new to photography and currently have a nikon d90 and 35mm lens.

I am planning to buy a 2nd lens, tossing between a zoom lens or a fixed macro lens

Feel that I need the zoom lens cause when trying to capture a picture of my dog running towards me in the park from far away, i need to crop the picture afterwards to get rid of distractions. Found that they will turn out quite blurry, not as sharp as I hope.
Do you think is because of my lens or the specs that I use to take it?
I use minimum of F 3 and increase the shutter speed as fast as it can go and also increase the exposure to +5 in order to obtain a bright picture with fastest shutter speed.

and I am also interested in macro photography especially flower

do not have the budget to buy the two of them at the moment
zoom lens: Tamron 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 XR Di-II Mot Nik
macro lens: Tamron 90mm f2.8 Di Macro Nik

Sorry for rambling on and on.

Thanks a lot. I really appreciate the help.

Mocha2204 :)

Tannin
22-06-2010, 1:58pm
Hi Mocha.

There are a few things you can do to improve.

Setting the exposure to +5 will SLOW your shutter speed, not make it faster. Set it to 0. No plus, no minus. Leave it there all the time for now.
For the sort of shot you describe, put your camera in APERTURE PRIORITY and set it to f/8 unless you have a good reason not to. If in doubt, the two most important rules in photography are f/8 and be there.
The camera itself will then decide what shutter speed is required. With your 35mm lens, anything over about 1/60th of a second will give sharp results.
Notice that your blurry shots are probably caused by bad focus, not too slow a shutter speed. Stopping down to f/8 will help with that.
Try using the CENTRE-POINT ONLY for focus instead of letting the camera select whatever point it likes (usually the wrong one).