PDA

View Full Version : Wedding Photography

bigbaz
16-06-2010, 2:41pm
Well i got my 550D this week, as well as my 17-85mm lens, and i am going to a wedding this weekend and have decided i may as well bring it along and give it a go. I am not the official photographer and they have hired professionals so it is not the end of the world if the photos do not turn out, i am doing this for my experience, so don't bother telling me wedding photography is hard, i have searched and found that out already.

Now my only lens is the 17-85mm, but i am looking at buying a 50mm F1.8 and a 55-250mm IS lens in the near future, would i be better off getting these sooner?

I only have the in built flash, will this be enough?

Lens hoods, i don't have any, should I?

I am pretty new at this should i just stick to Auto mode, or change it to one of the other auto settings, such as portrait mode or something? Or is this that moment where i need to take my training wheels off and learn more about depth of field so i can get some good background blur happening?

Any other tips for me?

Edit - Forgot to mention it is an indoor wedding!

virgal_tracy
16-06-2010, 3:17pm
Reallistically, what are you hoping to achieve at the wedding. If it it is church / chapel ceremony, there will be little chance for you to be standing up to take pictures. Many churches have a no flash policy also.

As a guest the 17-85 will allow you to get some nice images, so no necessity to go out and spend money now if you don't want to.

If you don't care about the images then take it off auto and experience what the changes do to the images. There is much more to learn than simply bluring the background. Learn about the relationship between iso, aperture and shutter speed. This is a great opportunity to experiment with no pressure on you to produce.