PDA

View Full Version : Nikon D5000 - Types of Wide angle lenses

Dez Zengin
27-05-2010, 1:54pm
Hi to all!!!

I'm pretty new to all this but I am getting to a stage where I want to add a new lens to my collection.

At the moment I have a 35-50mm and a 50-200mm lens for my D5000.

What I would like is a wide angle lens for photos in small spaces and landscapes.
I've been looking at the AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED which around the $2000 mark.

Obviously, I am still new to this and this is quite expensive for a noobie.

Any suggestions on what other lenses I can look into to achieve the above without the price tag?
Is there "mock ups" of Nikon lenses that work well (based on experience) with the D5000?

Thanks in advance.

chamellieon
27-05-2010, 3:36pm
I don't know what you mean by "mock ups" but if you want to go to a "third party" lens provider, such as Sigma, Tamron or Tokina, you'll find a wealth of wide angle lenses suited to the DX crop of the D5000.

The most popular wide angle lens, is the Sigma 10-20mm F3.5-5.6
Pretty much every landscaper i know has this lens, and it is a beautiful one at that.
When ordering, be sure to order a Nikon mount.

Tokina 11-16 (not sure on the specifics) however this is also highly regarded.

be careful not to directly buy the "fish eye" (unless this is what you want).
The sigma comes in around the $600-$700 mark, you can often find ebay secondhanders for dramatically less...

kiwi
27-05-2010, 3:38pm
You also need to choose only lenses that have a motor, eg AF-S for Nikon or HSM for Sigma

Id consider the widely likeed Sigma 10-20 HSM

Tikira
27-05-2010, 4:11pm
We really enjoy using our Sigma 10-20 on our d60 and consider it to be well worth thinking about. As Chamelleon & Kiwi said, make sure it is a Nikon mount and HSM. Check around, as prices do vary.
Di

Dez Zengin
27-05-2010, 4:13pm
Thanks heaps guys!

chamellieon - what i meant with 'mock up' you were pretty spot on. so same thing but different brand.