PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on AUTOMATIC mode

elGrando
25-05-2010, 8:32pm
Hi again. Hope this doesnt sound like too stupi a question. As an extremely amateur photographer I was curious to think what people here thought of photos being posted here that were taken in AUTO mode? Do the experienced people think its a waste posting them here? ( not saying that you think amateurs are useless)
For me it is a great way to learn and get a good quality shot without taking a load of crap ones to get use to positioning and angles, light etc.

kiwi
25-05-2010, 8:33pm
I dont really care of you use auto, manual, sport mode, alien mode, whatever

ITS THE PHOTO THAT COUNTS

ricktas
25-05-2010, 8:38pm
Auto mode has its place. Firstly when you are starting out, trying to learn all the features of your camera at once is stupid. Start on Auto, learn where the buttons are, get a good feel for the camera, and then if you want start looking at ISO, Shutter Speed, Aperture. Try to learn one at a time by using semi-auto modes.

Many years ago a wise man (not that long ago and not one of those wise men, how old do you thing I am :D ) also told me when you finish your shoot, put your camera on Auto before heading home, or putting it away.

His reasoning, you are driving home and suddenly a yeti crosses the road in front of you, you grab the camera, and snap a shot off..but you have left it on manual from your waterfall shoot and the shutter speed is set to 10 seconds. Nice blurry mess of a shot and not an identifiable yeti in it anywhere. At least if you put it back on Auto when you finished your shoot, you would have a reasonable chance of getting something that proves you saw a yeti (or some guy taking a short cut to a fancy dress party).

Dylan & Marianne
25-05-2010, 8:51pm
auto definitely has its role!
in fact, for most, it takes a long time before using manual or other priority modes results in better pictures than what the camera decides for you !

etherial
25-05-2010, 9:18pm