PDA

View Full Version : Buying from DWI

fairy bombs
12-05-2010, 8:50am
HI

Looking at purchasing a Lens soon,the cheapest I can find it for in Australia is $1500,a few people have mentioned DWI to buy items from,and I am just wondering if anyone here has bought kit from them,They have the lens I want for $1158,plus postage from Hong Kong.

Not sure how much postage is.

If anyone can let me know how they went with a purchase,that would be great,i have never done a transaction like this before.

cheers FB

olympuse620
12-05-2010, 9:06am
Can only offer this piece of advice - be aware of customs and the possibility of extra charges. I work mate purchased tools from the US but because they cost over $1000 he got hit with extra in Australia before they would release them to him. In the end it was not cheaper.

simonr23
12-05-2010, 10:40am
DWI will cover any customs charge, if it's even done. i think they ensure that the product doesnt get taxed.

and DWI are a good company to deal with, as long as you are aware that warranty has to go through them, for alot of products. i believe some/many lenses for canon and i think nikon are ok when bought o/s though, as far as aussie service goes.

rellik666
12-05-2010, 10:53am
Nikon won't have anything to do with grey imports.....

DWI are good though....but make sure you call them to make sure they have the item in stock...because there website can be out of date...

Roo

mikec
12-05-2010, 11:14am
DWI are fine to deail with, got my 5D II through them, no custom charges. The receipt said it was valvued at like $800 to get through with out any problems. Highly recommend them.

Dylan & Marianne
12-05-2010, 11:22am
I had trouble with DWI when ordering a 7D and I wanted a canon 70-200 F2.8 IS I lens.
They told me both were in stock when in actual fact they weren't.
They then told me they could no longer get the older model of the 70-200 so I had to upgrade to the version II.
When it was all finally sorted, delivery was swift however.