PDA

View Full Version : Win 7 Help

ameerat42
04-05-2010, 4:50pm
Hi All.
I don't know if I should post this here or in General Help.

I just installed Win 7 Ult on a quad core machine. After a while, when the screen blanks, there's a lot of HDD activity (and associated noise, HDD light blaring, etc.) I can't tell what's happening because any activity stops it, and the screen re-appears as normal.

I'm new to Win 7, but when my XP idles it's as quiet as anything.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks, Am.

NikonUser
04-05-2010, 5:15pm
I'd say that it is probably the computer indexing all of your files.

When installing vista or windows 7 the operating system does a lot of indexing and other optimizations after you have installed it.

It should stop after a few days/week (depending on how fast your drives are, how much is on them and how often you leave your computer idle)

Good luck
Paul

ameerat42
04-05-2010, 5:20pm
Thanks for that, Paul. Am.

milspec
04-05-2010, 5:25pm
Could be indexing, anti-virus or auto defrag ... no big deal I would think.

arnica
04-05-2010, 10:58pm
It wouldn't be the screen saver would it?

ricktas
05-05-2010, 6:30am
Speaking of screen savers. It is best to turn them off and have your system turn the monitor off after a set time, than use a screen saver. Yes it stops 'burn in' on your screen, but you can save a heap of money in power usage costs by not using a screen saver and having your system shut the monitor down after a period of inactivity instead. Screen savers are huge a waste of power.

ameerat42
05-05-2010, 9:05am
Thanks to all.
Arnica, it would be the default screen blanking, in fact maybe hibernation, except for the racket it makes.
Ricktas, in fact I had the screen switched off as well, but still the noise started up.
I'll look at the settings some more. I'm new to W7 and it's for someone else anyway.
Am.

dieselpower
05-05-2010, 9:26am
Am -