PDA

View Full Version : Nikon camera using other branded lenses

piannetta
03-05-2010, 7:09pm
Hi, I'm new to photography and I was wondering if you can use other branded lenses on Nikon cameras? I have a Nikon D3000 (entry level of course).

Or can I only use Nikon lenses?

I understand it's the lens that makes the camera to a large extent but the prices are very expensive so my question is to help me understand if I can buy cheaper lenses that aren't Nikon and will they work.

Many thanks,
Pete

mercho
03-05-2010, 7:17pm
Welcome to AP...

As long as they are nikon mount you should be fine. Ie: Tamron, Sigma and Tokina all make lenses for Nikon :)

arthurking83
03-05-2010, 7:20pm
Yep!

you can use just about any othe rmanufacturers lenses, with the caveat that they aren't the likes of Pentax Canon and some other brands of camera manufacturer that make incompatible lenses to the Nikon F mount.

The main culprits are Tamron, Sigma and Tokina, but you're not limited to only them guys. You can also get other brands(more obscure, so harder to find).. as long as it says compatible with Nikon(or F-mount).

be weary tho, as the type of camera that you have requires lenses to be AF-S or compatible with AF-S(such as Sigma's HSM, or a few lenses from Tamron that have built in focus motors into the lens) to autofocus.
if you don't mind losing the ability to auto focus, then any of the lenses that fit the F-Mount can be used on your camera.

Note: you can actually get lenses from other camera makers to fit via an adapter, but in general this not an ideal solution.

The main Other Brands that you want to look for are Tamron and Sigma... with built in focusing motors in the lens.

because you're not here as a member, it;s generally a good idea to ask which of the lenses in their line up is good.. or not. You don't want to purchase cheap lenses simply to save money! You should look for value for money on good lenses that are cheap :th3:

piannetta
08-05-2010, 3:13pm