PDA

View Full Version : need advice on lens for trip overseas

135i
01-05-2010, 10:44pm
New to this forum... must say great forum. Im new to DSLR world and need some advice
Have bought a 550D 1 month ago and also 2 lenses-- 1. Canon EF 85mm f/1.8
2. Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/ 3.5-5.6 IS

Im travelling to Europe and New York/Hong Kong (land HK then europe then NYC before heading home to Oz)
Wondering if i need to buy any other lenses for trip?
Any if yes is it worth it buying in HK or NYC?

Cheers Oscar

kwokask
01-05-2010, 11:39pm
Maybe an ultra wide (1x-2x mm) lens would be useful to complete the range (18mm crop is equivalent to 29mm FF, which is not that wide).

If you are planning to purchase in HK, avoid the camera shops in tourist areas as they are generally a rip-off (e.g. Tsim Sha Tsui).

Boofhead
01-05-2010, 11:53pm
The best advice I can give for buying overseas is know what you want to buy and what it is worth in Australia before you go. The dollar being so strong at the moment gives a great opportunity to buy overseas. There are some great camera shops in New York. B&H Photo are are site sponsor and have a shop you could waste a couple of hours and spend a few thousand dollars in! It seems there are shops selling camera gear on every second corner. Most all have the same prices and can prove difficult to get a discount. Do a Google search for the cities you are visiting, find your best prices, print out the details and then go haggling. When buying in the USA the quoted price probably does not include tax so make sure you clarify the total price you will pay before agreeing. Ask about what warranty you will receive as you need to be making a good saving in case you have to pay for postage both ways to where you purchased it if anything goes wrong. I hope this helps a bit.

Andrew

kiwi
02-05-2010, 6:40am
why not just take 18-200 - its what its designed for

OzzieTraveller
02-05-2010, 8:37am
G'day Oscar