PDA

View Full Version : Original VS Aftermarket Lenses

EdZz
30-04-2010, 10:54am
Hi All,

I'm new to DSLR, as with most people posting in this section.

Just wanted to ask is it a myth or truth in that it is better to buy original or aftermarket lenses? In saying that, for argument sake we are comparing similar specs lenses to the same body and price of the lens is not in scope, and of course when comparing a $3,000 Canon lens, you would compare a Tamron lens of similar spec that would cost similar to $3,000 (if there is such a thing)

"Extremely" loose example:

Canon Lens vs Tamron Lens
Canon vs Sigma Lens

I've heard various things and mix reviews... =S

Thanks in advance,
Eddie

rellik666
30-04-2010, 1:28pm
Hi Eddie, from my limited knowledge, you have to compare each lens on its own merits.

In general I would say that the OEM lenses are usually better than the aftermarket version. However whether the difference in quality is proportional to the difference in cost is a different matter.

I would also say that "value" really depends on your own personal circumstances and what your needs are.

Roo

Kym
30-04-2010, 1:49pm
Some 'brand' lenses are cr*p, some 3rd party lenses are brilliant and vice versa.
Each lens stands on its own merit.

The top line brand lenses are often the best, but come at a huge price (eg. price a canon or nikon 500/4)

Good fast glass will cost $ regardless of who makes it.

Some examples of well regarded 3rd party lenses..
The Tamron 90mm Macro, Sigma 10-20 wide, Tamron 28-75/2.8, Sigma 24-70/2.8 etc.

Read the reviews, ask about each lens you are thinking about buying here on AP before you buy.

EdZz
30-04-2010, 3:50pm
icic
how about build quality then?

nikon vs canon quality vs sigma vs tamron

again, comparing apples to apples, so the price range at least would be similar with similar/same specs?

OzzieTraveller
30-04-2010, 5:53pm
G'day EdZz

One of the many laws of our economic world says something like "you get what you pay for"