PDA

View Full Version : Filters- UV vs Skylight

marty123
19-04-2010, 8:08pm
I am relatively new to photography and would like to hear some opinions on wether uv or skylight filters are best for keeping on a lens all the time for protection.

arthurking83
19-04-2010, 8:20pm
No!

:D

kiwi
19-04-2010, 8:42pm
No

Case closed - ignore all subsequent replies

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Steve Axford
19-04-2010, 8:55pm
except this one

No!

peterb666
19-04-2010, 8:56pm
I use to say 'yes' but now I say NO as they are not required for digital photography and can lead to undesirable things like increased flare.

You don't need them for lens protection. Use a lens cap or lens hood instead and practice a little more care.

gabby
25-04-2010, 12:50pm
I've read all the replies to this thread as I'm also new to digital SLR's- I'm about to buy my first. Are you all saying that the use of a UV filter is not advisable with dSLRs? ( I used to always keep one on my ME Super unless I wanted another specialized one)

Xenedis
25-04-2010, 1:06pm
You don't need a UV filter for use with digital cameras.

Skylight filters and other colour-modifiers aren't necessary either.

If you're interested in protecting your front element, use lens hoods when you're shooting, and lens caps when you're not.

kevinj
25-04-2010, 3:31pm
If your lens falls head on,the broken filter glass will do more damage,front elements are pretty tough,maybe use one if your doing a lot of beach/surf style work where spray and windblown dust/grit could be a problem.

arthurking83
25-04-2010, 5:28pm
.... Are you all saying that the use of a UV filter is not advisable with dSLRs? ( I used to always keep one on my ME Super unless I wanted another specialized one)

Yes.

It's generally not advisable to use a filter unless it's for an actual effect that you're after.
In film days they used to help cut UV transmission through to the film as film was more susceptible to UV contamination.